Fennesz & Lillevan + Bétøn

Opening concert Brussels Electronic Marathon

The Brussels Electronic Marathon starts at Flagey on 13/10 with a breathtaking audiovisual performance by Fennesz & Lillevan, supported by an electronic reinterpretation of Terry Riley's famous "In C" piece by Bétøn.

FENNESZ

Christian Fennesz is an Austrian musician recognized as the key figure and one of the most distinctive voices of electronic music today. His lush and luminant compositions resemble sensitive, telescopic recordings of rainforest insect life or natural atmospheric occurrences, an inherent naturalism permeating each piece.

His wide international reputation has been consolidated through his substantial overall contribution to new musical expression. In the beginning of the 1990s, Fennesz became involved with Viennese techno scene. Though formally educated in guitar and ethnomusicology from an early age, Fennesz decided to pursue composing and developing his own sound difficult to mistake for another’s.

His milestone third album EndlessSummer (2001, Editions Mego) was acknowledged as one of the most important releases of the decade, helping to change the perception of electronic music today.

Within the last 10 years, Fennesz has collaborated with many musicians, filmmakers, and dancers. These encounters of diverse art forms have resulted in numerous stage performances and several exceptional studio releases. He has recorded and performed with Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Sylvian, Keith Rowe, Mark Linkous of Sparklehorse, Mike Patton, and many others. Fennesz has also worked alongside Peter Rehberg and Jim O’Rourke as the improvisational trio Fenn O’Berg.

LILLEVAN

Lillevan is an animation, video and media artist. He has performed and collaborated with many artists from a wide array of genres, from opera to installation, from minimal electronic experimentalism to dance and classical music; performed and exhibited all over the globe, and at all the major media festivals.

After studying politics and film, writing scripts, excited by the influx of Eastern European artists after the fall of the Berlin Wall, Lillevan took a break from film and found himself running clubs in Berlin. Soon, these new impulses-coupled with new and affordable technologies-pushed him back to make the moving imagery he found missing in the cinema, the art world, and popular culture.

Lillevan recontextualizes, combines, and politicizes existing film images and fragments. The images are a communicative medium that interact with the music. The selection of the images can either support the sound or work against it, the aim being to achieve a dialogue. He sees his work as a multilayered process, giving each viewer the opportunity to focus on different details and moments. Human perception remains the final interactive element of live video composition, creating new and unexpected relationships between non-related imagery.

BETØN

Bétøn is a modular music project emerging from artists of FTRSND collective. Its members are neither fixed nor defined allowing them to travel across many musical aesthetics. Bétøn's artists are versatile and have performed in many well-known places such as Ancienne Belqique, Botanique, Dour, Fuse, MIMA, Recyclart and TEDx.

For this opening concert they decided to play for the first time an electronic reinterpretation of Terry Riley famous « In C » piece.

Flagey, Brussels Electronic Marathon

Brussels Electronic Marathon 2017
Brussels Electronic Marathon 2017 | Fennesz + Lillevan

Fennesz & Lillevan + Bétøn

Concert d'ouverture Brussels Electronic Marathon

La deuxième édition du Brussels Electronic Marathon sera lancée à Flagey, le 13 octobre avec une performance audiovisuelle de Fennesz & Lillevan et la première mondiale du projet modulaire de Bétøn; une interprétation électronique de 'In C' de Terry Riley.

FENNESZ

Christian Fennesz est un musicien autrichien reconnu comme une figure clé et l'une des voix les plus distinctives de la musique électronique aujourd'hui. Ses compositions luxuriantes et lumineuses ressemblent à des enregistrements sensibles et télescopiques de la vie d'insectes de la forêt tropicale ou des événements atmosphériques naturels, un naturalisme inhérent qui imprègne chaque pièce.

Sa réputation internationale a été consolidée grâce à sa contribution globale substantielle à la nouvelle expression musicale. Au début des années 1990, Fennesz s'est impliqué dans la scène techno viennoise. Bien que formellement éduqué en guitare et ethnomusicologie dès son plus jeune âge, Fennesz a décidé de composer et de développer sa propre et unique esthétique sonore.

Son troisième album intitulé EndlessSummer (2001, Editions Mego) a été reconnu comme l'une des albums les plus importantes de la décennie qui a contribué à changer la perception de la musique électronique aujourd'hui.

Au cours des 10 dernières années, Fennesz a collaboré avec de nombreux musiciens, cinéastes et danseurs. Ces rencontres de diverses formes d'art ont donné lieu à de nombreuses représentations théâtrales et à plusieurs versions de studio exceptionnelles. Il a enregistré et joué avec Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Sylvian, Keith Rowe, Mark Linkous de Sparklehorse, Mike Patton et bien d'autres. Fennesz a également travaillé avec Peter Rehberg et Jim O'Rourke comme trio d'improvisation Fenn O'Berg.

LILLEVAN

Lillevan est un artiste d'animation, de vidéo et de média. Il a joué et collaboré avec de nombreux artistes dans une large palette stylistique, de l'opéra à l'installation, du minimalisme électronique à la danse et à la musique classique. Il a performé et exposé partout dans le monde. Après avoir étudié la politique, le cinéma et l'écriture de scripts, excité par l'afflux d'artistes d'Europe de l'Est après la chute du mur de Berlin, Lillevan a décidé de prendre une pause par rapport au monde du film et s'est retrouvé responsable de clubs à Berlin. Bientôt, ces nouvelles impulsions, associées à des technologies nouvelles et abordables, l'ont poussé à créer de l'image en mouvement qu'il a estimait disparue dans le cinéma, le monde de l'art et la culture populaire.

Lillevan recontextualise, combine et politise les images et les fragments de films existants. Les images sont un moyen de communication qui interagit avec la musique. La sélection des images peut soit soutenir le son, soit travailler contre celui-ci, créant un dialogue. Il considère son travail comme un processus multicouches qui donne à chaque spectateur la possibilité de se concentrer sur différents détails et moments de l’oeuvre. La perception humaine reste l'élément interactif final de la composition vidéo en direct. Elle crée des relations nouvelles et inattendues entre les images non liées

BETØN

Bétøn est un projet musical modulable issu d’artistes du collectif FTRSND. Ses membres ne sont ni fixés ni definis ce qui leur permet de voyager à travers de nombreuses esthétiques musicales. Les artistes de Bétøn sont polyvalents et ont joué dans de nombreux lieux prestigieux tels que l’Ancienne Belqique, le Botanique, Dour, Fuse, MIMA, Recyclart et TEDx entre autres.

Pour cet événement spécial, ils ont décidé de jouer pour la première fois une réinterprétation électronique de la célèbre pièce "In C" de Terry Riley.

Flagey, Brussels Electronic Marathon

Brussels Electronic Marathon 2017
Brussels Electronic Marathon 2017 | Fennesz + Lillevan