Coronavirus in Belgium: Flagey closes its doors to the public until further notice. Find out more
Zagros (Sahim Omar Kalifa)

Zagros

Sahim Omar Kalifa

Havin, the young wife of Zagros, a Kurdish shepherd, is accused of adultery. With her little daughter Rayhan, she flees Kurdistan for Belgium. Convinced of her innocence, Zagros decides to join her in Belgium to start a new life.

But in Brussels, Zagros begins to doubt: it seems that Havin didn't tell the whole truth. He must choose between his love for his wife and the honor of his family. An increasingly difficult choice, which will gradually sink Zagros into despair.

Flagey, Brussels International Film Festival


Sahim Omar Kalifa

Zagros is the feature debut of the Belgian/Kurdish film maker Sahim Omar Kalifa (1980). Sahim was born in Iraq and at the age of twenty emigrated to Belgium. He learned Dutch and worked as an interpreter in Brussels, including with the Immigration Department. He then studied film at Saint Luc Brussels film school. He graduated with the short film Nan (2008), which earned him a "wildcard" from the VAF. As a result, he was able to film his first professional short film, Land of the Heroes (2010), which he shot in Iraq. The short film won a large number of prizes, including a jury prize at the 61st Berlinale (section Generation). His next short films, Baghdad Messi (2012) and Bad Hunter (2014) - both also shot in Iraq - turned out to be even bigger prize-winners at festivals and both were on the shortlist of the Oscars. Sahim's three short films were selected for 250 festivals and won a total of 97 prizes. Sahim also directed an episode of the six-part documentary series Steenweg (2016), which was awarded the prize for best documentary series during the International Documentary Film Festival Docville in Leuven (Belgium) in March 2017.

ZAGROS Winner Grand Prix / Grote Prijs Film Fest Gent - release : 15.11.2017

Zagros (Sahim Omar Kalifa)

Zagros

Sahim Omar Kalifa

Havin, la jeune épouse de Zagros, un berger kurde, est accusée d’adultère. Avec sa petite fille Rayhan, elle fuit le Kurdistan pour la Belgique. Convaincu de son innocence, Zagros décide de la rejoindre en Belgique pour y démarrer une nouvelle vie.

Mais, à Bruxelles, Zagros commence à douter : il semble qu’Havin n’ait pas dit toute la vérité. Il doit choisir entre son amour pour sa femme et l’honneur de sa famille. Un choix de plus en plus difficile, qui va peu à peu faire sombrer Zagros dans le désespoir.

Flagey, Brussels International Film Festival


Sahim Omar Kalifa

Zagros est le premier long métrage du cinéaste belgo-kurde Sahim Omar Kalifa (1980). Sahim est né en Irak et a émigré en Belgique à l'âge de vingt ans. Il a appris le néerlandais et a travaillé comme interprète à Bruxelles, y compris avec le Département de l'immigration. Il a ensuite étudié le cinéma à l'école de cinéma de Saint Luc à Bruxelles. Il est diplômé avec le court métrage Nan (2008), ce qui lui a valu un "wildcard" de la VAF. Il a ainsi pu tourner son premier court-métrage professionnel, Land of the Heroes (2010), qu'il a tourné en Irak. Le court-métrage a remporté un grand nombre de prix, dont un prix du jury à la 61e Berlinale (section Génération). Ses courts métrages suivants, Bagdad Messi (2012) et Bad Hunter (2014) - tous deux tournés également en Irak - se sont révélés être des lauréats encore plus grands aux festivals et tous deux étaient sur la liste des finalistes des Oscars. Les trois courts métrages de Sahim ont été sélectionnés pour 250 festivals et ont remporté 97 prix. Sahim a également réalisé un épisode de la série documentaire en six parties Steenweg (2016), qui a reçu le prix de la meilleure série documentaire lors du Festival International du Film Documentaire Docville à Louvain (Belgique) en mars 2017.

ZAGROS Winner Grand Prix / Grote Prijs Film Fest Gent - release : 15.11.2017