fr | nl
ticketshop become a friend
Our events are only accessible to people with a valid Covid Safe Ticket. Find out more

Jean-Paul Estiévenart International Quintet

What if you ask artist in residence Jean-Paul Estiévenart to put together his dream team? Then he surprises with a group of internationally acclaimed musicians and a brand new repertoire. His dream team consists on the one hand of the American established values saxophonist Chris Potter and Jeff Ballard on drums, and on the other hand of the brilliant Belgian pianist Bram de Looze and the Dutch bassist Clemens van der Feen, both musicians with whom Estiévenart has been making music for years. The music Jean-Paul wrote for this concert represents everything that typifies him as a musician: lyrical, powerful and unique. 

Flagey


Within the traditional formula of an acoustic quintet, he manages to transform his pure melodies into pieces of contemporary improvisation, bursting in all directions. The result will appeal to jazzfans from the 50s and 60s as well as to melodic music lovers. Vers L'Avenir.

He knows how to draw the intersection between the past and the present of Jazz in a purely acoustic way. Jazzenzo

Estiévenart, who wrote all the music, gives a lot of space to the members of his group. But in the end, he himself makes the greatest impression: subtle trumpet player, strong compositions. De Standaard

And whoever thought it was only harmony and melody would be disappointed. Improvisation always plays a leading role in the music of this incredible Belgian trumpet player. Jazz Nu


You may also be interested in:

nl | en
billetterie become a friend
Nos événements sont uniquement accessibles aux personnes présentant un Covid Safe Ticket valide. En savoir plus
Jean-Paul Estiévenart

Jean-Paul Estiévenart International Quintet

Qu’arrive-t-il lorsqu’on demande à l’artiste en résidence Jean-Paul Estiévenart de constituer sa dreamteam ? Il crée la surprise en présentant un groupe de musiciens de stature internationale et un répertoire flambant neuf. Son quintet idéal se compose d’une part de valeurs sûres américaines, le saxophoniste Chris Potter et le bassiste Jeff Ballard, et d’autre part du brillant pianiste belge Bram de Looze et du bassiste néerlandais Clemens van der Feen, deux musiciens qui l’accompagnent depuis de nombreuses années. La musique qu’il a composée pour ce concert concentre tout ce qui le caractérise sur le plan musical ; lyrique, puissant et unique.

Flagey


Au coeur même de la formule traditionnelle du quintet acoustique, il arrive à transformer ses pures mélodies en morceaux d’improvisation contemporaine., éclatant dans toutes les directions. Le résultat séduira tout autant les fans de jazz des années 50 et 60 que les amateurs de musique mélodique. Vers l’Avenir

Il sait comment tracer l’intersection entre jazz passé et present d’une manière purement acoustique. Jazzenzo

Estievenart, qui écrit toute la musique, laisse un large espace aux membres de son groupe. Mais à la fin, c’est lui qui fait la plus grande impression. Un trompettiste subtil, aux compositions robustes. De Standaard

Ceux qui pensent qu’il n’est question que d’harmonie et de mélodie seront déçus. L’improvisation joue un rôle central dans la musique de cet incroyable trompettiste belge. Jazz Nu

Brussels Jazz Festival 2022

Vous pourriez également être intéressé par: