fr | nl
ticketshop become a friend
Our events are only accessible to people with a valid Covid Safe Ticket. Find out more
Jean-Paul Estiévenart / Kris Dewitte

Deus Ex Machina

In ancient Greek theatre, 'Deus ex machina' referred to a mechanical device that caused a god to descend on stage in spectacular fashion. Equally surprising and sometimes disconcerting has been the arrival of electronic instruments into music history. Yet music continues to move and enchant through the magic and diversity of its sounds. For his third project of Jean-Paul Estiévenart's carte blanche at the Brussels Jazz Festival, he invites the two gods of electronics, Jozef Dumoulin and Bert Cools, together with his drummer Antoine Pierre and saxophonist Bo Van Der Werf for an experimental project without limits.

Flagey


Within the traditional formula of an acoustic quintet, he manages to transform his pure melodies into pieces of contemporary improvisation, bursting in all directions. The result will appeal to jazzfans from the 50s and 60s as well as to melodic music lovers. Vers L'Avenir.

He knows how to draw the intersection between the past and the present of Jazz in a purely acoustic way. Jazzenzo

Estiévenart, who wrote all the music, gives a lot of space to the members of his group. But in the end, he himself makes the greatest impression: subtle trumpet player, strong compositions. De Standaard

And whoever thought it was only harmony and melody would be disappointed. Improvisation always plays a leading role in the music of this incredible Belgian trumpet player. Jazz Nu

nl | en
billetterie become a friend
Nos événements sont uniquement accessibles aux personnes présentant un Covid Safe Ticket valide. En savoir plus
Jean-Paul Estiévenart / Kris Dewitte

Deus Ex Machina

Dans le théâtre grec antique, “Deus ex machina” évoque un mécanisme qui fait apparaître spectaculairement le dieu sur scène. L’irruption des instruments électroniques dans l’histoire de la musique a créé une telle surprise et parfois, un tel trouble. Et cependant, la musique continue d’émouvoir et d’enchanter par la magie et la diversité des sons. Pour sa deuxième “carte blanche” au Brussels Jazz Festival, Jean-Paul Estiévenart a convié deux dieux de la musique électronique : Jozef Dumoulin et Bert Cools, de même que son percussionniste Antoine Pierre et le saxophoniste Bo Van Der Werf à partager un projet expérimental sans frontières.

Flagey


Au coeur même de la formule traditionnelle du quintet acoustique, il arrive à transformer ses pures mélodies en morceaux d’improvisation contemporaine., éclatant dans toutes les directions. Le résultat séduira tout autant les fans de jazz des années 50 et 60 que les amateurs de musique mélodique. Vers l’Avenir

Il sait comment tracer l’intersection entre jazz passé et present d’une manière purement acoustique. Jazzenzo

Estievenart, qui écrit toute la musique, laisse un large espace aux membres de son groupe. Mais à la fin, c’est lui qui fait la plus grande impression. Un trompettiste subtil, aux compositions robustes. De Standaard

Ceux qui pensent qu’il n’est question que d’harmonie et de mélodie seront déçus. L’improvisation joue un rôle central dans la musique de cet incroyable trompettiste belge. Jazz Nu

Brussels Jazz Festival 2022