We strongly recommend you to buy your tickets online to avoid long queues at the ticket shop.
Paradise Lost
Paradise Lost / Wouter Van Vaerenbergh

Brussels Philharmonic, Akiko Suwanai

Paradise Lost

Earthly paradise, a romantic idyll, true love: this is the beginning of the programme. From Strauss’ symphonic birthday present for his wife to the sorrow and homesickness of Takemitsu, in his typically strange style uniting Japanese tradition and western innovation.

With Vaughan Williams’ lark, dark clouds threaten and the mood becomes gloomy. Yoshimatsu mourns the nearly extinct toki or Japanese crested ibis, and Richard Strauss ends with the death of an artist.

Before enjoying the concert with Brussels Philharmonic at night, you can join a fascinating town tour in Brussels with a guide from Korei. You can combine the tour and the concert with the discounted combiticket. Before this concert, on November 9, there is the tour 'Discover Brussels: the iconic rectorate building of the VUB'. Discover the combiticket here! 

Flagey, Brussels Philharmonic, Goethe-Institut Belgien


You may also be interested in:

Paradise Lost
Paradise Lost / Wouter Van Vaerenbergh

Brussels Philharmonic, Akiko Suwanai

Paradise Lost

Le paradis sur terre, une idylle romantique, le véritable amour : c’est ainsi que commence cette programmation. De la symphonie composée par Strauss pour l’anniversaire de son épouse à la mélancolie de Takemitsu, dans son style propre réunissant étrangement la tradition japonaise à l’innovation occidentale.

L’esprit s’alourdit avec l’alouette de Vaughan Williams et de sombres nuages se font menaçants. Yoshimatsu pleure la possible extinction du toki ou ibis nippon, tandis que Richard Strauss termine par la mort d’un artiste.

Avant de profiter du concert avec Brussels Philharmonic de ce soir, laissez-vous tenter par une promenade pour découvrir Bruxelles. La visite sera encadrée par un guide de l'absl Korei. Vous pouvez également choisir le combiticket, un avantageux moyen de combiner la promenade et le concert. La promenade 'Découvrez Bruxelles: le bâtiment du rectorat iconique du VUB' aura lieu le 9 novembre, avant le concert. Découvrez le combiticket ici!

Flagey, Brussels Philharmonic, Goethe-Institut Belgien