Flagey is gradually reopening its doors to the public from Sunday, 5 July. Find out more
POLO Architects

POLO Architects

Lunch with an Architect

Lunch with an Architect is intended as a forum for reflection and discussion to improve the quality of architecture in Brussels.

Through 3 meetings a year, Lunch with an Architect, in cooperation with Flagey, provides the real estate world with a window on the major contemporary events in the world of architecture, the more specifically Belgian issues, and the emblematic projects under way. 


Created by Mauro Poponcini and Patrick Lootens, Polo architects has grown very rapidly and now employs 100 people in their offices in Antwerp and Brussels.

It all began when the two young architects, then barely in their thirties, won the competition to build the Belgacom headquarters in Hasselt, a 30,000 m² project.

The firm has expanded from that moment on as emblematic projects followed one after the other in Belgium and abroad. They include the AP Hogeschool Antwerpen [Antwerp AP College], which is due to be extended in the near future, the Diagonal-Besòs Campus, a university housing complex in Barcelona, the Yust, a new concept that redefines the codes of housing and coworking, and Barefoot Luxury Villas, a residential development in Cape Verde that combines cutting-edge technologies and local expertise, or Red Cross Care, nominated for the 2020 MIPIM Awards, which provides accommodation for people who, for reasons of illness, old age, social circumstances or other limitations, cannot afford to go on holiday in a place conducive to relaxation and a change of scenery.

The film’s strength lies in the combination of different practices that combine urban planning, architecture and interior design. The projects are varied in terms of issues, function, scale, programme and context. It is a deliberate choice on the part of Polo Architects, a firm that aspires to develop the most varied experience so as to push back the boundaries and hone the skills of its teams relentlessly.

Flagey, F()rum

Flagey rouvre progressivement ses portes au public à partir du dimanche 5 juillet. En savoir plus
POLO Architects

POLO Architects

Lunch with an Architect

Lunch with an Architect se veut un lieu de réflexion et d’échanges pour faire progresser la qualité architecturale à Bruxelles.

A travers 3 rencontres par an, Lunch with an Architect propose au monde immobilier, en collaboration avec Flagey, une fenêtre sur les grandes actualités du monde de l’architecture, les thématiques plus spécifiquement belges, les innovations et les chantiers emblématiques en cours.


Créé par Mauro Poponcini & Patrick Lootens, Polo architects a connu une croissance fulgurante et emploie aujourd’hui 100 personnes dans leurs bureaux d’Anvers et Bruxelles.

Tout commence lorsque les deux jeunes architectes, alors à peine trentenaires, gagnent le concours pour construire le quartier général de Belgacom à Hasselt, un développement de 30.000 m2.

Dès ce moment, le bureau prend de l’ampleur et les projets emblématiques se succèdent, tant en Belgique qu’à l’étranger. Citons entre autres l’AP Hogeschool Antwerpen, dont l’extension est prévue prochainement, le Campus Diagonal-Besòs, logement universitaire à Barcelone, le Yust, nouveau concept qui redéfinit les codes du logement et du coworking, Barefoot Luxury Villas, développement résidentiel au Cap Vert qui combine techniques avant gardistes et expertise locale ou encore Red Cross Care, nominé aux Mipim Awards 2020, qui héberge dans un lieu propice à la détente et au dépaysement les personnes qui, pour des raisons de maladie, vieillesse, circonstances sociales ou autres limitations, n’ont pas les moyens de partir en vacances.

La force du bureau réside dans la combinaison de différentes pratiques alliant l’urbanisme, l'architecture et l’interior design. Les projets sont variés tant en terme d’enjeux, de fonction, d’échelle, de programme et de contexte. C’est un choix délibéré de Polo Architects qui aspire à développer l’expérience la plus variée pour pousser invariablement les limites et compétences de ses équipes.

Flagey, F()rum