The 39 Steps (Alfred Hitchcock)

Ciné Club Studio 5

New season of the Cine Club of Studio 5 with its founders Patrick Duynslaegher and Hugues Dayez. Rediscover movies, listen to enthusiastic explanations, and together raise a glass in the honour of the 7th art.


The Cine Club team have chosen three essential film noirs, typical of 1950s French cinema, a golden age for the French industry: La Traversée de Paris (with its unforgettable scene between Bourvil, Funès and Gabin) and two classic crime flicks: Razzia sur la chnouf and Les Diaboliques.

The three directors had one thing in common: Autant-Lara, Decoin and Clouzot represented a brand of cinema “made in France” that the New Wave tried to bury. The New Wave embodied by Jean-Luc Godard’s Bande à part, the title of which Quentin Tarantino borrowed when naming his production company A Band Apart – showing the admiration of Pulp Fiction’s director for this off-beat heist movie and its legendary director. English-speaking cinema will also feature, with two thrillers of very different tone and from very different eras: The 39 Steps by the master of suspense, Alfred Hitchcock, and Carlito’s Way by the virtuoso of “new Hollywood”, Brian De Palma

In collaboration with CINEMATEK

Programme

The 39 Steps (Alfred Hitchcock)

Ciné Club Studio 5

Nouvelle saison pour le Ciné Club du Studio 5 avec ses animateurs Hugues Dayez et Patrick Duynslaegher. Des films à redécouvrir, des présentations éclairées et des échanges sympas autour du verre de l’amitié.


Les animateurs du Ciné Club ont choisi trois perles noires, typiques du cinéma français des années 1950, un âge d’or pour la production tricolore : La Traversée de Paris (avec l’anthologique scène triangulaire entre Bourvil, de Funès et Gabin) et deux classiques du film criminel : Razzia sur la chnouf et Les Diaboliques.

Point commun des auteurs respectifs : Autant- Lara, Decoin et Clouzot représentaient un cinéma made in France que la nouvelle vague entendait enterrer. Cette nouvelle vague représentée elle, par Jean-Luc Godard et Bande à part, dont Quentin Tarantino a choisi le titre pour nom de baptême de sa société de production. C’est dire l’admiration de l’auteur de Pulp Fiction pour ce polar décalé et son illustre auteur. Le 7e art anglo-saxon est présent, lui, avec deux suspenses de ton et d’époque bien différents : Les 39 marches du maître Alfred Hitchcock et Carlito’s Way du virtuose du “nouvel Hollywood” Brian De Palma.

En collaboration avec CINEMATEK

Programme