fr | nl
ticketshop become a friend
Flagey closed its doors to the public from December 24th 2021 to January 28th 2022. Find out more

Klarafestival 2022

Let’s Stick Together

"In each of us there is a double desire at work. I want to be together with others, I long for recognition; I want to feel seen and liked, I want to pull the other person against me - come here, let me kiss you. But also wanting to be alone, to withdraw into the shell of my body; I close the shutters and turn off my phone - leave me alone. The latter is the exception, the first desire is many times stronger: we are social cuddly animals." So writes Paul Verhaeghe in Keep your distance, touch me, an essay he published in June 2020.

A year ago, we were all still in quarantine and culture was limited to experiencing a digital festival via a screen. Today, the cards are in a better position and we are passionately looking forward to working with you, with orchestras, conductors, soloists, chamber musicians and other artists from Belgium and abroad, to once again experience masterful live performances in one room.

individual and collective

However, not everyone embraces getting outside again: some of us are repelled by too much physical proximity and like to postpone the hectic existence of the past for a while. Business as usual often degenerates into mindless conformity, or so it is said here and there. Incidentally, did we not see the crisis as an opportunity to do things differently in the future? But then again, doesn't that require a lot of human interaction? Sitting together, deliberating, getting together and rolling up our sleeves?

Tensions between the individual and the collective are of all times. However, during and after moments of crisis, this relationship is always put on edge. This is exactly what we want to discuss during Klarafestival 2022. How much individual freedom can a society tolerate? And when does collectivism become harmful to the individual? Let's Stick Together, after Bryan Ferry's album, is the sentence that will accompany us for no less than 17 days, sometimes as a triumphant exclamation, sometimes as a doubting question.

Programme

nl | en
billetterie become a friend
Nos événements sont uniquement accessibles aux personnes présentant un Covid Safe Ticket valide. En savoir plus

Klarafestival 2022

Let’s Stick Together

« Un désir ambivalent nous habite. D’une part, le désir d’être ensemble, la soif de reconnaissance : je veux être vu et me sentir aimé. Je veux enlacer mon prochain. Viens près de moi que je t’embrasse. Désir de solitude aussi, de rentrer dans sa coquille ; je ferme les volets et éteins mon téléphone. Laissez-moi tranquille. Le second est l’exception. Le premier est bien plus fort : l’homme est un être social. » Tel est le constat que dresse Paul Verhaeghe dans Houd afstand, raak me aan (Lâche-moi, touche-moi), un essai publié en juin 2020.

Il y a un an, nous étions encore tous confinés et la culture se vivait à distance, par écran interposé. Aujourd’hui, les auspices sont meilleurs. Nous avons hâte de vous retrouver vous, nos spectateurs, les orchestres, les chefs d’orchestre et de chœurs, les solistes, les chambristes et autres artistes d’ici ou d’ailleurs, pour revivre des moments magistraux en direct, dans une seule et même salle.

individuel et collectif

Tout le monde n’est pas prêt à reprendre le chemin des salles. Certains appréhendent une trop grande proximité physique et préféreraient remettre à plus tard la vie trépidante d’avant. On entend dire que le retour à la normale est souvent empreint d’une conformité désolante. N’avions-nous pas entrevu dans cette crise une occasion de réinventer l’avenir ? Ce vœu pieux ne passerait-il pas précisément par un tourbillon de rapports humains ? Se retrouver, se parler, se rassembler et se retrousser les manches ?

L’antagonisme entre individu et collectif a toujours existé, mais les crises et les moments qui les suivent ont toujours le don de le remettre en évidence. Tel est exactement le propos du Klarafestival 2022. Quel degré de liberté individuelle une société peut-elle tolérer ? Quand le bien commun devient-il délétère pour l’individu ? Le mantra Let’s Stick Together, titre d’un album de Bryan Ferry, nous guidera 17 jours durant, tantôt comme une exclamation triomphante, tantôt comme une interrogation dubitative.

Programme