fr | nl
ticketshop become a friend
Flagey closed its doors to the public from December 24th 2021 to January 28th 2022. Find out more
Maki Namekawa / Andreas H- Bitesnich

Maki Namekawa

Japanese pianist Maki Namekawa was the first to record Philip Glass' integral Études in 2014. It was the beginning of a long collaboration that resulted in 2019 in the First Piano Sonata that Glass composed for her. Namekawa describes the music as an intimate drama. 'When I received the score, I couldn't believe my ears. It was a new style of music. The "wrong" notes are both alienating and beautiful.' Equally lyrical and extraordinary is the universe that Keith Jarrett reveals to us in his 1977 work Ritual.


Flagey Piano Days 2022
AMAZING: Maki Namekawa plays Philip Glass Piano Etude No 9 & No 20 HD (dir. Andreas H. Bitesnich)

In the context of

Flagey Piano Days 2022