fr | nl
ticketshop become a friend

Brussels Philharmonic: Rachmaninov 2

Stéphane Denève

“The most agonizing hour of my life”. That is how Rachmaninov described the premiere of his First Symphony. The press razed the work to the ground and for three years, Rachmaninov did not write a single note. In 1907, he proved his definitive comeback and revenge as a composer with his Second Symphony: a romantic masterpiece. Brussels Philharmonic opens the concert with contemporary American composer Garrop's Penelope Waits, in which she gives a voice to the queen who has been waiting twenty years for her husband Odysseus to return.

Flagey, Brussels Philharmonic

You may also be interested in: